If you missed a hole or holes

Modified on Wed, 27 Aug at 9:34 AM

Sometimes things happen on the course - for example, severe weather - and you might not get to finish all 18 holes. Don’t worry, your round can still count for handicap purposes, as long as you’ve played at least 10 holes and followed the Rules of Handicapping.

Here’s how it works:

  • A Score Differential is calculated for the holes you completed.
  • An expected Score Differential is added for the holes you didn’t play.
  • Together, this gives you an 18-hole Score Differential.


Example:


 If you only managed 16 holes before the weather stopped play:

Score Differential from 16 holes played


  • Expected Score Differential for the 2 missing holes
     = Your 18-hole Score Differential


⚠️ Important: If you’ve played fewer than 9 holes, the round cannot be used for handicap purposes.


Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select at least one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article